Mostly Cloudy 16° C Mostly Cloudy

Board Voting Structure


































Board Voting Structure

The number of votes to which each municipality or electoral area is entitled is determined by population, letters patent and the Local Government Act. For every 1,500 persons or portion thereof, an area is allowed one vote.  If an area has more than 5 votes a second director can be seated at the Board table and so on, for every 7,500 population. 

When an area has more than one director, the allowable number of votes must be divided amongst its directors as evenly as possible. The results of these calculations can be seen on the following chart.

Voting Strength for Regional Districts  - Populations certified by the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing under sections 196 and 197 of the Local Government Act as per the definition in the Schedule to the Community Charter, effective November 1, 2017.


Strathcona Regional District
Population 44,671 (2016 Census)
Municipality Population No. of Directors Voting Strength
City of Campbell River 33,465 5 23 
Village of Gold River 1,212 1 1
Village of Sayward 311  1 1
Village of Tahsis 248  1 1
Village of Zeballos 107  1 1
Electoral Area      
Kyuquot/Nootka - Sayward, (Electoral Area 'A') 1,255 1 1
Cortes Island (Electoral Area 'B') 1,099 1 1
Discovery Islands - Mainlands Inlets (Electoral Area 'C') 2,578 1 2
Oyster Bay - Buttle Lake (Electoral Area 'D') 4,396 1 3
 TOTALS              44,671      13  34

Population includes people residing on Indian Reserves and boundary extensions to December 31, 2016.

Directors are only entitled to vote on matters for which the area they represent has a vested interest.  Typically this will include general corporate matters as well as services for which the area contributes financially.

301-990 Cedar Street, Campbell River, BC  V9W 7Z8  phone: 250-830-6700 or 1-877-830-2990  fax: 250-830-6710

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.